Ambassadors Program

The Ambassador Program aims to provide voluntary assistance to the Directors by recruiting community minded people who have a genuine interest in the prosperity and opportunities available with the local community. The following seven Ambassadors currently support the program:




Ian was a founding Director of HFS Limited before moving into an Ambassador role. He is actively involved in shaping the business and seeking opportunities to benefit the greater community. Ian had more than 20 years’ experience in marketing and management before owning and running local newsagency businesses for more than 20 years.

Ian has been married to Fay for more than 50 years with three children and three grandchildren.



Bryn has worked as an ICT Project Manager for the past 20 years with extended periods working throughout Asia, USA, and South America.

Apart from work, Bryn is involved in Surf Life Saving and has filled most committee positions at South Curl Curl SLSC, including four years as President. As a passionate volunteer, giving back to the community is a significant part of Bryn’s character. One of his most pleasing achievements is his involvement in helping to establish the free Community CPR & First Aid program in conjunction with HFS Limited.



Greg is a Fellow CPA with more than 35 years of business experience, 25 of those in Senior Management roles and Consulting in the fields of Resources, Banking, Finance, Computers, IT, Insolvency & Reconstruction, Litigation Support, Caretaker Management, Start-ups and Internet Marketing.

Greg’s management and financial consulting experience consists of various roles with Chartered Accounting firms, Small Business clients as well as major liquor wholesale and distribution clients. Greg was most recently CFO of an ASX listed company for six years.


Rohan has a Bachelor of Sports Management and is currently furthering his studies in a Masters of International Business. He relocated from his home town of Tathra on the Far South Coast of NSW to pursue his passion for sport and business management.

Rohan is an active member of the International College of Management Sydney community and joined Bendigo Bank in 2013 with roles at Pambula and District Community Bank® Branch, holding the inaugural role of Junior Director.

Rohan will be going onto his Industry Training placement as part of his qualification next year, and hopes to secure himself a role within the AFL as a Player Manager where he will draw from his experiences and ambassadorship with Bendigo Bank.


Liam became Ambassador after receiving the Ken Ward Memorial Scholarship in 2014 as part of the HFS Limited Tertiary Scholarship Program. He recently completed a Double Bachelor of Actuarial Studies & Applied Finance and is working as a Graduate with a data analytics company and intends to further his studies to become a Fellow of the Actuaries Institute & CFA.

Outside his career and academic life, Liam has actively sought out sport and community involvement. Having represented Australia in Kayaking, Liam has both competed and volunteered with Newport and South Curl Curl Surf Life Saving Clubs.


A 2014 recipient of the HFS Limited Tertiary Scholarship Program, Violet is completing a Bachelor of Science (Advanced). She has lived in Balgowlah all her life and always been involved in the local community.


Dubbed the Erin Brockovich of the finance and business community, Debbie has staged a one woman campaign to expose unethical business practices and contracts, campaigned to government for regulation and protection, and has spent 20 years protecting and representing her council, university, government, hospitality, large and small business clients and saving them literally millions of dollars.

A professional business woman, educator, speaker, mentor, compassionate and long standing advocate and fundraiser for the disadvantaged is why Debbie was nominated for business woman of the year on three separate occasions.

How to become an Ambassador and Director?

Freshwater Beach

Supporting Youth

Tertiary Scholarship Awards Program

To help encourage and support local students with their university undergraduate studies (or equivalent), Harbord Financial Services (HFS) Limited offers up to nine Tertiary scholarships yearly, each to the value of $5,000, to students living within the former Warringah and Manly local government areas of the amalgamated Northern Beaches Council during the course of their secondary education.

To be eligible for nomination for the Tertiary Scholarship Awards, students need to display both academic skills and community involvement. The following schools participate in the program:

  • Northern Beaches Secondary College (Freshwater Campus)
  • Northern Beaches Secondary College (Mackellar Campus)
  • Northern Beaches Secondary College (Manly Selective Campus)
  • Northern Beaches Secondary College (Cromer Campus)
  • Northern Beaches Secondary College (Balgowlah Campus)
  • St. Augustine’s College, Brookvale
  • St. Luke’s Grammar School, Dee Why
  • Stella Maris College, Manly
  • St. Paul’s College, Manly

Principals of the participating schools are required to nominate the student they believe to be most eligible for the award by using pre-determined criteria. Nominations are reviewed by an independent adjudication panel comprising academic professionals, government representatives and news and media identities.

More information about the nomination and selection criteria


Bronte Munro
Jessica Chignell
Isaac Arnold
Huon Williams
Nicholas Chivers
Anna Ritchie
Matilda Gould
James Bourcie


Emily Collett
Konstantin Dunn
Rachel Holland
Alanah Tassone
Wylie Faeste
Matthew Schofield
Julian Harris
Taylor Mills
Jack Sloman


Jordan Gallaghar
Joshua Bannister
Roanize Kruger
Todd Jacobs
Dylan Thompson
Ryan Maguire
Liam Yeates
Violet Warner
James Gourlay


Nina Newcombe
Jovana Zelenbaba
Amelia Loughland
Thomas Elliott
Rory O’Connor
Jessica Williams
Rachel Nunn
Jacob Tsagaris

Student of the Year Tertiary Scholarship

In addition to these awards, HFS Limited will annually provide a $15,000 Student of the Year tertiary scholarship ($5,000 for each year of an undergraduate degree) to an outstanding student from the local community who has demonstrated both all-rounder academic status while studying for the HSC and a high level of community involvement in a range of activities. More information about this award and its selection criteria

Congratulations to the following students who each received the Freshwater Community Bank Tertiary Scholarship Award:

Hiranya Patel, Aaron Skilton, Sofie Rejto, Robert Cantwell, Monty Taylor, Ivica Covic, Olivia Flower, Angus Gilbert, Grace Joseph, (Michael Regan - former Warringah Council Mayor and Peter Harley - FCB Scholarship Director)

Freshwater Beach

Future Leaders Program

The Future Leaders Program aims to be an invaluable experience for selected year 11 students looking to enhance their educational, social and community development. By encouraging independent thought, enthusiasm and initiative, the one-year program provides participants the opportunity to learn and develop skills for life as they work closely with our Board of Directors, and to have a say on local projects and issues as well as present a project they would like to see initiated within the community. The students gain experience in business planning, sponsorship commitments, promotions, leadership, interstate conferences and community event management.

The students gain experience in business planning, sponsorship commitments, promotions, leadership, interstate conferences and community event management.

Card image cap

Isabelle Ritchie

from St Luke’s Grammar School

Card image cap

Joshua Viljoen

from St Luke’s Grammar School.


Freshwater Beach